A Mind Needs Books Like A Sword Needs A WhetstoneWe live in an age where a sharp mind is better than a strong fist. The physical strength that was needed to survive in the past isn’t necessary anymore. You can survive no matter how weak you are. We live in the information and technology age, where our minds are the tool for survival and we need to sharpen it, if we want to survive and thrive and the way we can do that is by reading books.

A great book is an amazing thing, it has the experience of many many years digested into a couple hundred pages and we can consume years of knowledge in a matter of hours and then use the ideas learnt to improve our lives, to make innovations, to change the world.

If you want to lead you got to read and if you want to make money online you have to read as well, to be ahead of the things and constantly improving.

Even though the benefits of reading are clear, the task is still kinda boring, exhausting and time consuming. Maybe there is a better way? Well, I want to share with you some book reading hacks that I know.

Make it a habit

Read every day for at least half an hour or a full hour. This will help you to make reading a habit and when it is a habit, you will start to enjoy reading much more, you will start reading faster and you will train your focus, you will understand the content much better. A habit forms in 21 days, you will have the resistance at the beginning, but if you stick with it you will reap the rewards.

Philosophers notes

Type into Google Philosophers notes, you should find a product and a blog. What are the Philosophers notes? Brian, the creator of the product, has read tons of great books and after reading a book he has made a summary of the main ideas he learnt in the book. He provides a short 20 minute audio and a 6 page pdf file, so you can consume the gist of the book in just 20 minutes. It saves a lot of time, but of course you don’t get all the knowledge that you would from reading the full book, but if you really like it you can then go and grab the full book.

Spiking Curiosity

I was watching a webinar by Mark Hoverson about ultra reading and I want to share some ideas from there. Before reading a book imagine, what benefits you will get, what ideas, you will find and how they will help you manifest the stuff that you want. Also he also recommends to just go through every single page in the book before you start reading it, you conscious mind wont be able to process the info, but your subconscious will.

Also don’t be afraid to write in your books, to underline the paragraphs you find interesting etc. You aren’t going to sell the book later, are you? Mark Hoverson says to imagine that a book is like a meal, and when you are eating one you don’t eat all the bones and skin, you eat only the tasty parts, the same goes with a book you don’t necessarily need to read it from cover to cover.

Speed Reading

There are some tips to increase the speed at which you are reading, they are pretty simple and easy to understand. When reading follow the text with your left hand finger, left hand activates the creative side of the brain and the finger helps you keep track of where you are. Also focus when you are reading and make sure no one is distracting you, just by doing this you will save time, because you wont need to read paragraphs over and over again. Basically speed reading is wanting and deciding to read faster.

Hope these tips will help you consume more info in a shorter period of time.

Share

2 Responses to A Mind Needs Books Like A Sword Needs A Whetstone

  1. I love the metaphor! Another great way to make a habit of reading is to set aside a special reading place.

    Thank you for the nuggets of wisdom in this post. Readers are leaders.
    Jeff LeMaster recently posted…10 Summer Reading List suggestionsMy Profile

    • Liudas says:

      Yeah that’s actually a really good tip :) Your mind associates stuff and if you have a corner that associates with book reading then whenever you will go there you will think about reading a book.
      Going along the same lines another productivity tip would be to have a separate computer to play games, so while working at your PC you wouldn’t start thinking about games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge

default-poup
individual-poup

FREE TRAINING VIDEO

How To Set-Up A Profitable Facebook Ad In Any Niche

Sign-up below to get access now!

Private Policy. Your Information will never be shared.
mouse-poup

FREE TRAINING VIDEO

How To Set-Up A Profitable Facebook Ad In Any Niche

Sign-up below to get access now!

Private Policy. Your Information will never be shared.
mouse-poup

FREE TRAINING VIDEO

How To Set-Up A Profitable Facebook Ad In Any Niche

Sign-up below to get access now!

Private Policy. Your Information will never be shared.